MIXTAPE: On The Tune Mixtape Vol. 5

On The Tune Mixtape Vol. 5

It’s certainly been a while between mixtapes, but hopefully this is a triumphant return to form! We’ve got something for everyone with this one. Guitar-based songs, softer tracks, a Talking Heads cover, sample-based electronic songs, hip-hop mash-ups, acoustic ditties, and some post-rock to finish everything up.

Plus, it’s all completely legal. I asked every single artist or their management if I could use the tracks. No guilty conscience for anyone involved. It feels nice, doesn’t it?

Enough of my ramblings though. Feel free to peruse this fine tracklisting and download the mixtape at your leisure. Happy listening!

P.S. Cover art is by the incredibly handsome Michael “Sea Monkeys” Forrest.

And don’t forget to like On The Tune on Facebook!


Size: 131.09 MB


1. Winter Street – A Little More

2. The Moniters – Lights Go Down

3. The Panda Band – The Fix

4. The Deer Republic – Feel Like Dancing

5. Millions – Those Girls

6. Udays Tiger – Machine

7. Tim Fitz – Disposable Youth

8. The Dead Leaves – This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)

9. Buckley Ward – So Pretend

10. Anton Franc – Letting Go

11. Air France – It Feels Good To Be Around You

12. Lion & the Lotus – Vistas De Oro

13. Gotye –  Somebody That I Used To Know (Phatchance Hip Hop Remix) Remixed by One Above

14. The Trouble With Templeton – Bleeders

15. Cheer Advisory Council – Coach

16. Solkyri – This Can’t Wait!

17. Tom Day – Home

Don’t know how to unzip stuff? Download 7zip here.
Don’t know which download link to click? I don’t know what .msi files are either. Do you use Windows? Try this one.

BRAND NEW: Dirty Projectors – "Ascending Melody" 7"

Eccentric pop melodies are rolled together on the two songs from this free single, "Ascending Melody" and "Emblem Of The World". Dragged around the songs are loose-played guitars, and the twangy, sunny vibe, leaving you unsure entirely what to expect from Dirty Projectors.

The female vocal lines rise and begin "Ascending Melody" before the male counterpart joins in, balancing out the song and interweaving vocal duties in the chorus. There’s an overwhelming exuberance that seems to transcend the music completely. It sounds like they’re having fun at the same time too.

"Emblem Of The World" isn’t quite as interesting or appealing, but provides a nice bit of filler for the single. It’s in the same style as "Ascending Melody", as you would expect, but isn’t quite as up-beat.

Score: 6/10

Grab a free download of the single here.